Alphabet Lessons: Self-Worth

Believe in yourself.

But be realistic about your limits.

This one I have to relate to the job search. Self-confidence is critical as is having a supportive network of people who demonstrate faith in you. But if I believed I was qualified for the Managing Editor jobs or Director of Media jobs or Digital Producer jobs that are out there, I would be completely delusional.

One great piece of advice I’ve heard over and over again is to not apply for positions you are absolutely not qualified for. Not only is it a poor use of time, but it’s a huge downer to continually not hear back from employers. Which goes back to the first line of this non-poem – avoid negativity.

I can’t badmouth this one too strongly though – I was definitely raised to be self-reliant and self-aware, and I credit that for allowing me to keep my chin up in adverse situations.

This entry was posted in Alphabet Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

